Let him eat cake

Birthdays are a perfect time to get creative, and for people who love to bake making a homemade cake is the obvious way to go. Some people are great at decorating, some make balloon animals, me – I bake. So for Andrew’s birthday I took his favorite theme (next to horror movies or music – maybe I’ll try one of those next year) Space! I made him a space themed cake.

You can do one of two things, make cake batter from scratch or use boxed cake mix. I honestly don’t think it makes you a bad person or means you care any less if you use boxed mix when you’re pressed for time. Same with the icing, pick which side you want to be on; make your own or use premade. Either way, the cake assembly will be the same. You will need: cake batter (enough for two layers), icing, food coloring and any accessories or candies that you want to add.

Find a large piece of cardboard or a box, and cover it with foil. This will make a great base for your cake.

Bake your cake in square or round pans, you will need two full cake slabs to make a two tiered cake.

While your cake is baking, mix your icing. I used a combination of mainly blue colouring with a few drops red added slowly to make a very pale blue (almost grey). I used this as to cover the base I constructed the cake on and to make it look like a planet, with craters and an uneven texture by pushing it with a spoon (I was trying to make it look like the moon).

Next add your sheet of cake, I trimmed the top off to make it flat. Add a layer of icing to this layer, and top with the second layer of cake. From here, ice the entire cake top and sides (I used a much more vibrant shade of blue as “the sky”).

The fun part is decorating. I went to a toy store and found some great figurines, the entire solar system in miniature along with astronauts and space equipment. I placed the planets on the cake, dotted the entire cake with yellow icing as “stars” then placed the space explorers around the cake.

This is how it turned out:

Andrew was surprised, and I was so happy I was able to make his birthday special. (It’s really hard to surprise someone when you live together – a.k.a please leave for a few hours). We celebrated with great friends and food, and I look forward to making personal cakes a bit of a birthday tradition.

If you don’t have time or feel like making the cake yourself, why not buy a premade cake and decorate it with icing and personal touches? The fact that you took the time and wanted to make something unique is guaranteed to make anyone feel extra special.

Happy birthday Andrew!

6 responses to “Let him eat cake

Leave a Reply

