What to make your Dad on Father’s Day? Manly crepes, obviously.

That’s right, crepes. But not just any old crepes, manly crepes. Crepes that have lots of cheese, big pieces of mushroom and maybe a chunk of bacon or prosciutto in there. That’s the kind of thing any dad would love to have made for him on Father’s Day.

Crepes are actually incredibly easy to make, and can be filled with just about anything. They can be topped with fruit cooked in wine, slices of steak and blue cheese or even grilled veggies. My Dad is the one who taught me how to make crepes growing up, and so I thought I would share this meal idea just before Father’s Day.

There are a lot of crepe recipes out there, they use very  few ingredients mixed until smooth. I used this basic crepe recipe from Allrecipes.com

What you need

  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

To make the batter mix the flour and eggs, then slowly add the milk and water. Once smooth add the salt and melted butter and combine.

Heat a nonstick pan and add about ½ a cup of batter, then tilt the pan  in circles so that the batter spreads out thinly. Keep turning the pan until the batter isn’t thinning anymore and has spread as evenly as it will go. Once browned, flip and cook the other side. Crepes cook very quickly, so keep an eye on them. (Sneaky crepes...)

In another skillet cook your filling. I used a combination of spinach and portabella mushrooms that I cooked with two cloves of garlic then added salt and pepper.

Arrange the crepe on a plate, add cheese and a line of filling. Roll the crepe. Repeat and arrange them beside each other, garnish with parsley or spice of your choice.

I also made a simple arugula salad, very popular in Italian cooking. (Yes, I made French crepes and an Italian salad. Very multicultural of me, right?) This salad is simple but tastes great, just toss baby arugula leaves with fresh lemon juice, olive oil, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper until evenly coated.

Feel free to try out a lot of combinations and come out with your own signature style of crepes, here are a few that I really like:

  • Blue cheese, fresh fig and prosciutto
  • Brie red pepper and chorizo
  • Asparagus with hollandaise sauce
  • Berries simmered in red wine
  • Banana, coconut and nutella
9 responses to “What to make your Dad on Father’s Day? Manly crepes, obviously.

  • recipes for disaster helen hill

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

    • Jennifer

      I’m sorry about that! I’m not exactly sure what process needs to be done since that’s a WordPress application, but I’m looking into it and will email you with a solution soon.

  • Peluang Bisnis

    I not to mention my friends were checking out the good tips and tricks found on your website and all of a sudden I had an awful feeling I never thanked the blog owner for those strategies. My ladies came totally very interested to read through all of them and have in effect in reality been using these things. Appreciate your really being very accommodating and then for settling on some notable subject areas most people are really eager to understand about. My personal sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to you sooner.

  • mercedes-benz

    I am also writing to let you know of the incredible experience my daughter encountered viewing yuor web blog. She noticed too many pieces, which include what it’s like to have a marvelous teaching mindset to get the mediocre ones just gain knowledge of some impossible matters. You actually exceeded our desires. Many thanks for producing those priceless, trusted, explanatory as well as unique thoughts on this topic to Julie.

  • wedding ideas

    Looking tasty kind of Food.The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

  • Kathryn Bourdon

    Great! It gives me inspiration. I think I will also inspired by you and think about more new ideas.

  • Chas

    It appears you fully understand a lot related to this
    subject and it exhibits through this specific article, called “What to make your Dad on Father’s Day?
    Manly crepes, obviously. | serving up recipes and ideas for food”.
    Thanks -Mammie

Leave a Reply

