Eating Other People’s Food – Vienna Edition

You know those people who always say “I don’t want to enter that draw, I never win anything.” I was one of those people. My advice to you, ENTER CONTESTS! ALWAYS ENTER THEM! Because sometimes you win, in my case, a trip for two to Vienna after celebrating the one year anniversary of In Toronto Magazine. So this post is not really about food and recipes as it is sharing a bit about my lovely trip to Austria.

First though we had to find care for this little guy while we were gone.

 

After a very extensive search to find what would make me most comfortable, Barks and Purrs in Toronto were wonderful. I would use them again in a heartbeat.

The food

So, a bit about the food. It was good, some better than others, but to be fair I’m not really a “meat and potatoes” kind of girl. I love starch and protein as much as the next person but in small doses. I’m also a big fan of spice, and found a few of the meals a bit bland. We ended up splitting a lot of foods to try as much local cuisine as we could. I really could have done with a bit more veggies but hey – we were on vacation.

 

My favorite meal was the hands down the Goulash, and I tried it at a few places. I’m going to try to make it again here in Canada and will post a recipe once I get it just right. It was delicious, slow cooked and topped with fresh herbs and sometimes a bit of sour cream.

 

 

The sights

Vienna is beautiful. Seriously postcard perfect, clean, and the architecture was breathtaking. In hindsight I’m sure it wasn’t hard to spot the tourists because we were walking around taking picture after picture of their homes. Their shops. Even their fruit stands.

 

My favorite thing about visiting other countries is trying the local food and drinks, it’s one of the main reasons I love to travel. And sometimes you see some pretty strange-looking things… (this sort of looks like a laughing package of cigarettes to me – anyone know what this is?)

Anyone love to travel to try new foods? If so, I would love to hear about any favorite meals that you’ve tried out of the country!

One response to “Eating Other People’s Food – Vienna Edition

Leave a Reply

