I Can’t Believe It’s Not Cheese Sauce

Cheesy pasta is one of my absolute favorites, but it’s not the healthiest option so I tend not to make it very often. Then I discovered nutritional yeast cheese sauce. Nutritional yeast is powdered tiny yellow flakes that you can buy in most health food stores, I get mine from Kensington Market in Toronto. I’m sure you can also find them online, you can buy pretty much anything online right?

I’m not a vegan or vegetarian but I do try to eat meat free one or two days per week. It’s healthy, good for the environment and forces me to try recipes I never have before. (Besides, how much actual “cheese” do you think is in processed cheese foods anyways?)

This sauce is so much better than I assumed it would be before trying it, and I now make it pretty often. Healthy points: nutritional yeast is a nutrient dense source of protein (apparently it has more protein than meat) and it’s a source of vitamin B. Then there’s the fact that it just tastes really, really good.

There are a lot of recipes online but after tweaking mine quite a few times here is (in my opinion) the best way to make nutritional yeast cheese sauce.

Dry Ingredients:

  • ½ cup nutritional yeast flakes
  • ½ cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon of salt (I like to use coarse sea salt)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder (if you like garlic, you can use two like I do)
  • 1 teaspoon mustard powder (or the prepared kind if that’s what you have on hand)
  • Chili powder to taste
  • Pepper to taste

Wet Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of water
  • ½ cup margarine

What you do:

Mix all dry ingredients in a saucepan until blended.

Turn stove on medium, slowly whisk in water. Use a whisk, honestly, it helps prevent clumping. (Yes, I know I didn’t use a whisk. It would have been much easier if I had.)

Continue stirring as the sauce begins to bubble and thicken. If the sauce is too thick, add a bit more water until it thins out to your desired consistency.

Serve over pasta noodles. I used wagon wheels because that’s what we had, and I like funny shaped pasta.

 

I like a bit of spice so I sprinkled chili powder on top of the pasta before I served. You can also use the sauce to make a vegan/vegetarian nacho dip with a bit of diced jalapeno in it, again, it tastes really good.

Hope you like it!

8 responses to “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Cheese Sauce

Leave a Reply

