Very quick, very easy, very delicious lemon pasta

I haven’t blogged for a few weeks now, and I have a very good reason. I didn’t think the Chinese takeout containers or pizza delivery really counted as me preparing a quick and easy meal worth blogging about.

It really seems like it’s baby season right now, I have three people in my life currently expecting little wee ones. I could not be happier for them but it makes me wonder how working moms, new moms and all parents in general – how do they do it? I always feel so busy and the only dependants I have are a pug and a boyfriend. And the pug practically raises himself these days.

I came across a great blog, The Sweet Potato Chronicles, where a mom posts quick, easy and healthy recipes. I figured if she can manage, we can all manage. Last night I made a lemon pasta recipe she posted and was not disappointed – it was very refreshing with the citrus and fresh basil, perfect to welcome summer. Very few ingredients and so easy to make, I suggest you give it a try.

You will need:

  • 1 package of linguine or spaghetti pasta
  • 3  lemons juiced (1 zested)
  • 6 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • handful of basil, washed and sliced into strips
  • salt and pepper to taste

 What you do:

Cook pasta according to package instructions. Save 1 cup of the pasta cooking water.

 

While pasta is cooking: mix lemon juice, zest, oil, parmesan in a bowl. Set aside. (Yes, I added the basil right away. I break all the rules.)

Place drained pasta back into serving bowl. Pour the sauce over the pasta and toss well until well coated. If the sauce is too thick, add a bit of the cooking water. Add basil and toss again (unless you already added it like me). Serve immediately.

 

There you have it! And after a long hard day, feel free to have a glass of wine while you enjoy your dinner.

 

Before anyone even asks, no, I do not give my dog wine. He actually prefers scotch on the rocks.

4 responses to “Very quick, very easy, very delicious lemon pasta

  • Michael Nus

    I would be more than happy to taste test this for you 🙂

    • Jennifer

      I should open up a baked goods and dinner delivery service. I would show up all stealthy and say “Psssst. I got the stuff you ordered.” I’d call it “Illegally Delicious”.

      Do you think my bank would approve my business plan?

  • Ceri Marsh

    Hi! It’s Ceri from Sweet Potato Chronicles – I’m so glad you like this recipe! I’m putting it into regular rotation. I’m so glad I found your blog – it’s great. Love your stylish pug, too.

    • Jennifer

      You know that feeling when you adore a blogger and read her regularly, then she comments on your own much smaller blog? If you don’t – ask me about it. Because it’s awesome! 🙂

      Thank you Ceri, the recipe was delicious and I look forward to trying many more in the future.

Leave a Reply

