Using up Rotisserie Chicken

Those pre-made rotisserie chickens are a miracle. At one point, a caveman or woman got the right idea, cooked up a bunch of prehistoric chickens and traded them for shiny rocks and mammoth skins. At least, that’s how history works in my mind.

Whole roasted chicken can be used the first day served with salad, potatoes, veggies, whatever really. But then with the leftovers you can make:

  • Spicy chicken tacos
  • Toss with roasted red peppers and pesto, or plain pasta sauce
  • Make chicken salad sandwiches
  • Stir fry or chow mein
  • Rocket fuel

Last night to use up chicken we had leftover I threw together a few things I had in my fridge/cupboard and it worked out pretty well. If you are unfamiliar with Herbes de Provence, I strongly urge you to buy some. I literally use this delicious French spice in so many things, it adds instant flavor to simple dishes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s in it/What did I do:

Very low on the ingredient side and equally easy on the prep side. Andrew cooked some brown rice while I diced leftover chicken. I sautéed 3 cloves of crushed garlic in a bit of olive oil, then added the chicken to brown. I then added cooked rice, Olive Oil Becel (or you can use butter) a generous amount of spice, sea salt and cracked pepper. I let it simmer, then served. I would have topped this with a bit of romano cheese if we had any in the fridge, but alas.

Sometimes you just have to work with what you have.

Leave a Reply

