Tipsy Cupcakes!

Homemade cupcakes are amazing. When I have the time to make them from scratch, icing and all, it’s sugar coma time. But you can still do great things with boxed cake mix and adding flavored liqueur to your cupcake batter is a really easy way to customize your desserts.

It’s been hectic in the office and I wanted to make my coworkers a TGIF treat, so I whipped up two batches last night: Grand Marnier (the orange icing) and Raspberry Chambord cupcakes (pink icing). My neighbor and fellow blogger Reggie Ramone taste tested four of them after I baked them, so they must be good. 😉

What you need: You have two options, make the base from scratch or use boxed mix (the white cake mix variety). I really like this basic cupcake recipe from “Our Kitchen”; it’s been my “go to” lately. (They also give me major camera envy; I’ve just been using my iPhone for most of my food pictures while I try to decide between three SLR cameras).

You can either make just one flavor or split the batter to make two or more types. You’ll also need bottles of whichever liqueur you’ll be using – I like having the little mini ones hanging around because they’re great to flavor so many things.

What you do: To make two types like I did, once you have your batter mixed divide it equally into two bowls. Add about 1 ½ tablespoons of liqueur to each batch.

Pour into muffin tins and bake at 350 degrees for 16 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool and then add icing. I split my icing into two bowls and colored them separately before topping the cupcakes.

There are so many combinations you can try but here are a few that I really like:

  • Chocolate base with banana liquer
  • Chocolate base with kaluha
  • Vanilla base with Peach Schnapps
  • Chocolate base with Crème de Menthe
  • Chocolate and Guiness cupcakes (trust me, it’s amazing)
Leave a Reply

