How to Prepare and Cook a Duck Breast

When I talk about cooking and share recipes, it’s often with people like me. Hectic work lives followed by equally hectic after-work lives but we still enjoy great food.

Duck is one of those intimidating foods that you want to try cooking but so many people never do. The truth is it’s actually fairly easy and doesn’t take very long at all. Its texture is fatty and meaty, similar to steak. Gordon Ramsay taught me how to make my very first duck breast. It was over the internet, so he didn’t even shout at me when I made a mistake or two my first time!

 … so this is how dinner got made

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Potatoes: I like to keep the skins on the potatoes because it gives a great texture once whipped, and also because that’s where all the nutrients are. (When you add loads cream and butter, you look for healthy points where you can!) Once the potatoes are washed, cut and boiled I drain them then add about 4 crushed cloves of garlic. I add butter and cream to taste, or non-hydrogenated margarine and skim milk if you want a healthier option. Whip until smooth with an immersion blender.

Salad: I just used salad mix and lots of sliced orange bell peppers, then a basic oil and vinegar dressing.

Duck: One large duck breast is perfect for two adults. Score the skin (not cutting into the meat) and rub on your spice of choice (I used herbes de provence – a staple in a lot of things I make). Heat a pan over medium heat, then place the duck fat side down in the dry pan. Once the fat starts melting reduce the heat and drain the fat as it renders out. Leave the duck cooking on the skin side for 10 – 15 minutes depending on the size, then finish for 5 minutes on the other side. (This should result in the breast being cooked to medium.)

Let the duck rest about 5 minutes (meat keeps cooking after you remove it from heat) and then slice lengthwise and arrange on plates to serve.

6 responses to “How to Prepare and Cook a Duck Breast

Leave a Reply

