Cheating in the Kitchen

I love elaborate and beautiful meals but I don’t always have the time. Breakfast is the one meal that tends to suffer the most; M – F is cereal, cereal, cold pop tart, cereal… weekends become the magical days filled with omelets, homemade waffles, quiche and French toast. It just isn’t fair.

But I find that taking an extra few minutes to make something other than cereal perks me up in the morning and I really like to sit down to enjoy breakfast with coffee and watch cartoons the morning news. So I compromise and pull out the pancake mix.

Pancake mix is amazing. Just add water? I have water! But that tastes pretty boring so over the years I’ve come up with a few ways to make it healthier and taste a lot better.

What’s in it: Pancake mix, water (you can use milk instead), unsweetened apple sauce, cinnamon, ground flax seed (you won’t really taste it and it’s good for you so just add it).

What I do*: Make pancake batter to slightly thicker than desired consistency (the apple sauce will thin it out). Add apple sauce until batter is even and thinned out ever so slightly – careful though too much and your pancakes will not cook right. Ratio should be about 3:1 batter to apple sauce. Mix in cinnamon and ground flax seed to your preference. Preheat a skillet on medium, pour in a ladle of batter and cook, flip, cook some more. Top with natural maple syrup or the Aunt Jemima stuff – I don’t judge – and garnish with sliced apples sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon.

* When I’m trying something new or making things up on the spot, I don’t measure. This habit comes from years of watching my parents and grandmothers cook. They didn’t “precisely measure” everything and we didn’t get food poisoning, the kitchen didn’t blow up and the universe wasn’t sucked into an alternate dimension where we were all beaten with measuring spoons. If you really NEED measurements just leave me a comment and I’ll try to figure it out for you, you poor little muffin.

2 responses to “Cheating in the Kitchen

  • Karen

    This sounds like a recipe a cooking novice like me could handle. 🙂 Congrats on your new blog Jen! Looking forward to learning new things and hopefully being inspried to actually use my oven for something other than a storage unit.

    • Jennifer

      Thanks Karen, I think that’s what people need to realize. Yes, I love making complex meals that take more time and prep (and practice!) but everyone can cook. Just because we live busy lives doesn’t mean we have to sacrifice making and enjoying good food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

